Everest Base Camp Itinerary

View Everest Base Camp Trek in a larger map
The interactive profile map shows the Everest region plus you can follow the trekking route for the Everest Base Camp Trek.  Also, click the “earth” button in the top right hand corner to see the amazing geography of the Everest region in Nepal.  The Everest Base Camp itinerary listed below shows the days needed for the trek plus details for each day of trekking.

Day 01: Depart Kathmandu by air, for Lukla (8800ft) and a short 2-3 hour flight to Phakding at 8,661 feet. The flight into Lukla is similar to the Everest View flight for it’s amazing views.
Day 02: The trail climbs gradually following the river and enters the Everest National Park at Jorsale, once it crosses the river, it steeply ascends to Namche (11,100 feet). This takes about 4-6 hours.
Day 03: At Namche this is a rest day or day hike possible. Namche is capital of the Khumbu district and there are many ways to spend a day.
Day 04: At Tengboche.  Your trek will continue by climbing the ridge above Namche and descend to the Dudh Koshi River before climbing to the Tengboche Monastery (12664 feet). This will take about 4-6 hours. The delightful town of Devoche is about 20 minutes further ahead.
Day 05: This is a a rest day to be used as needed.
Day 06: At Dingboche. Now over 14,0000 ft the trek will continue slowly through the villages of Pangboche and Dingboche.
Day 07: Rest day, but numerous day hikes are available from Dingboche, including Nangkartshang Peak or one of the base camps below Ama Dablam.
Day 08: At Lobuche (16000 feet).
Day 09: At Gorakchhep. The last camp will be here before taking the long day hike to the summit of Kala Patar (18,000 feet).
Day 10: At Kala Pater: This day the trek will take you on a long day hike to the summit of Kala Patar and back down, spend the night in Lobuche.
Day 11: At Pangboche.
Day 12: At Khumjung
Day 13: At Manjo
Day 14: Return to Lukla
Day 15: Fly to Kathmandu by noon.